Girl Doesn’t Have an Expensive Face

These are the products I’ve been using on an everyday basis, with slight variations to lip color or mascara. I’ve included only products I’ve purchased myself, excluding anything I’ve gotten from a subscription service to provide an accurate idea of the “cost” of my face.

fac1

Primer: Smashbox Photo Finish More Than Primer Blemish Control $16.00 at Sephora.

Foundation: L’Oréal Infaillible Pro-Matte Foundation (In 101 Classic Ivory & 102 Shell Beige) $11.99 at Target.

Eye Shadow: It Cosmetics Naturally Pretty Vol 1 Palette $42.00 at Ulta.

Mascara: Maybelline Volum’ Express The Falsies Mascara $6.99 at Ulta. 

Lip Treatment: Smith’s Rosebud Salve $6.00 at Sephora.

Lip Gloss: NYX Butter Gloss (in Créme Brûlée) $4.99 at Ulta.

Lip Cream: NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream (In Zurich) $5.99 at Ulta.

Total across three stores (not including taxes!): $105.95

fac2

EXCEPT GIRL DOESN’T PAY FULL PRICE IF SHE DOESN’T HAAAAAVVEE TOO!!

So, from Sephora and Target I bought primer and foundation and lip salve at full price because I’d convinced myself I needed those things exactly at that moment and couldn’t wait for deals or coupons. When I repurchase the foundation I will wait until Ulta has L’Oréal at 40% off, or at least buy-one-get-one at 50 % off.

Everything I purchased from Ulta was discounted first by deals and then by coupons because Ulta always has a $3.50 off $10.00 or 20% off one item coupon running. The eyeshadow palette was on super-deal one day only for 50% off and I snatched it off their website. I had to pay shipping but. worth. it. The lip products and the mascara were all purchased during 40% off “brand” sales which Ulta does periodically with the drugstore brands they carry.

Primer: $16.00

Foundation: $23.98

Eye Shadow: $26.95

Mascara: $4.19

Lip Treatment: $6.00

Lip Gloss: 2.99

Lip Cream: $3.59

Total (not including taxes or coupons!): $83.70

Taking into account that mascara should only live to be 3 months old (but who actually throws out half a tube of perfectly useable mascara?) and that primer is a half size but that the eye shadow and lip products have much longer lasting power… if these potions and tinctures lasted me an average of sixth months and I wore them seven days a week, my face costs about $0.46 a day.

Note: Pictures taken in natural light. Products purchased by Girl.

Leave a Reply

