Girl Doesn’t Like This Stuff

This is going to be a quick one, so I can’t even call it a review. I got my hands on the new Maybelline Dream Velvet Soft-Matte Hydrating Foundation ($10.99 at Ulta) and got the foundation on my face and was immediately disappointed.

mdmv1

I have very oily skin, and large pores on my cheeks and nose, and the stubborn scars left by acne and this foundation accentuated every one of those trouble issues, settling into and exaggerating every imperfection while simultaneously sliding around my face until I was a patchy, cakey mess. This foundation made me miserable to be wearing it, and I couldn’t even be bothered to give it a second chance.

mdmv255

Here are swatches of the two lightest shades, for your viewing pleasure. The texture was moussey and soft, and reminded me of a thinner version of the Rimmel Stay Matte Foundation (surprise, that foundation was awful for me as well) and there seemed to be a decent color selection.

I had high expectations for this foundation (Velvet Matte anything should be my jam) but it was really just an unmitigated disaster. 0/5 would-not-reccomend.

Leave a Reply

